Delegating

One of the greater things about working in a small business is finding ways to become more efficient.  Delegating is an art for small business owners.  It’s tough to let go of the reins and teach someone else how to do it just the way you want it done.

I started in baby steps, moving my way towards empowering my staff to feel comfortable in making decisions on my behalf.  This was only achieved by sharing my thoughts and being consistent in my approach, because ultimately, they needed to know what my preferences were and “what I would do” or even want in each scenario.  Making the best business decisions on my behalf became their business.

As a manager, I have learned to let go of the white-knuckled grip I had on control.  This has changed me as a person because things that used to bother me no longer do.  It’s a wonderful feeling being able to trust someone else to get the job done. 

~ by slasch on February 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
